The National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework (NQF) was introduced in 2012 by all state governments and territories to ensure that everyone is working together to provide improved outcomes for children enrolled in education and care services throughout Australia.

Embedded in the Framework is:

  • The National Quality Regulations
  • The National Quality Standards
  • The assessment and rating process for all education and care services
  • My Time, Our Place – Framework for School Age Children
  • The Early Years Learning Framework


The Benefits of the NQF

Research has proven the importance of quality education and care during the early years of childhood. The early years are critical for establishing the lifelong foundations of children’s learning, their self-esteem, resilience, problem solving and their social and emotional development. These outcomes for children can be achieved through the following changes that have been implemented by the NQF:

  • Improved ratios for children, which allows more individual care for children
  • Approved learning frameworks that support educators in providing quality programs for children
  • All educators are must hold a minimum of Certificate III level education and care qualification which provides educators with an increased level of knowledge
  • National registers have been established to provide families with information regarding education and care services

All education and care services in Australia are required to have a Quality Improvement Plan will be assessed under the NQF to ensure they are meeting the National Quality Standards.



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This